Setlist

01. Papercut
02. Given Up
03. Rebellion
04. Points of Authority
05. One Step Closer
06. A Line in the Sand
07. From the Inside
08. Runaway
09. Wastelands
10. Castle of Glass
11. Leave Out All the Rest / Shadow of the Day / Iridescent
12. Robot Boy
13. New Divide
14. Breaking the Habit
15. Darker Than Blood
16. Burn It Down
17. Final Masquerade
18. Remember the Name
19. Welcome
20. Numb
21. In the End
22. Faint

Encore:

23. Waiting for the End
24. What I’ve Done
25. Bleed It Out

 

My 5th Linkin Park show brought me to Berlin. It took place at the “Stadion an der alten Försterei” and was the first concert ever held at this location. I was really excited to see the band again. Especially after receiving a mail on tuesday morning that said I won a Meet & Greet. Needless to say I was over the moon!

The day of the show was there and I made my way to the venue. I had difficulties at first to find the right entrance. I found it eventually and waited with a bunch of people for admittance which turned out to be very chaotic. The security staff clearly had no idea how to handle the crowd. Lorenzo from LPU HQ showed up and tried quite successfully to manage the situation. He checked in the LPU members since we had early entry.

There were quite a lot of people with a laminate so the chances of getting a spot in the front were quite low. Having won the m&g I wouldn’t have been able to make it to the first row anyway, so I didn’t bother. I just felt a bit sorry for the other people. After an awful long time of waiting we could finally enter the venue.

I initially looked out for the m&g meeting point where Lorenzo would pick us up to meet the band. But there were still almost 3 hours to go. Fortunately I was able to pass the time with some really lovely people. Special thanks to Jule, Heike and Johannes. You made waiting so much better! We were told to be at the meeting point at 7:40pm sharp. Everyone was there on time and we waited for someone to fetch us.

Lorenzo showed up and after checking everyone in and handing out the m&g passes, we were led downstairs. It was pitch-black down there and we could barely see a thing. We had to wait down there till the m&g for the VIP package holders was over. Time went really slow and we were joking around how we won’t be even able to see the band because we’ll be blinded by the lights or the camera flashes.

Lorenzo came back and led us to the backstage area where we were joined by the band shortly after. The group photo was taken and my heart almost stopped when Chester sat down right in front of me. The meet & greet didn’t take very long, I got my Hybrid Theory signed and I got to hug Chester again. The guys were as lovely as usual but Joe was missing. We were told that there were family issues he had to take care of. He also didn’t do the show. Whatever the matter was, I hope he and his family will be ok.

We left the backstage area and went to the front of stage section where I had a pretty good stage view. Just minutes later we could watch the band going onstage. Everyone went nuts. The show… what can I say… it was a blast. I loved the energy, I loved the setlist, I loved the crowd. Everyone was jumping, screaming, singing. During “In the End” you couldn’t even hear the band because the audience was singing so loudly.

Before admittance some of us were handed white LED balloons that we needed for a flashmob during the show. While the band was playing the ballad medley we were supposed to let them fly when they sing “let it go”. It all went perfectly fine, the band was really touched and it looked amazing. At the end some fans in the first row held up signs that said “Thank You LP”. Here’s a video of the balloons, it wasn’t recorded by me. Thanks to the person who captured this moment!

The show went by much too fast, I enjoyed every minute of it and I wished it would’ve lasted much longer. I’m already looking forward to the next one and I hope they come back real soon.

Leave a Reply

